Terri Powell, MSW

I support individuals looking to address difficult and painful life experiences in order to have a better relationship with themselves and the loved ones around them.

I also sit with people experiencing grief as they figure out how to fully experience their new life while still honoring the past.

Many people find themselves stuck in patterns that prevent them from living the lives that they want. Though inquiry and personal discovery, I help you identify what you want and what is standing in your way.

Through a warm, collaborative relationship we will focus on you taking action toward your vision, goals and desires while providing you structure, support and feedback. I want you to feel empowered and confident to master the challenges of life including communication skills, boundary setting, work life balance. I strive to provide you with guidance and support to master difficult issues and situations.Terri Powell, MSW

Education

I completed my undergraduate studies at California State University Sacramento in 2003, graduating Suma Cum Laude with my Bachelor’s degree in Social work with an emphasis in Ethnic studies. Upon completion of my BSW, I co-founded a prominent local non-profit outpatient treatment program for adolescents. After 12 years of providing services to families and adolescents in the Placer community I returned to CSUS in 2015 and earned my Masters in Social Work Degree.


Professional

For nine years I have provided school based counseling to students in the Roseville/Rocklin community.

My Graduate practice was with UC Davis CAARE center where I provided therapeutic services for children and families experiencing extreme trauma.

Upon graduating in 2003 with my BSW, I became involved in a community effort to support families navigating the challenges of adolescents. Understanding the importance of working with the entire family, I implemented the Parent Project, a national program facilitated in over 35 states to help parents navigate the teen years.  After 5 years of facilitating parent and teen groups for the Placer community, there was an obvious need for low cost substance abuse treatment for families dealing with addiction. This turned into a seven year labor of love that resulted in the first non profit, intensive outpatient treatment center for adolescents in Placer county.

I also had agency contracts for adolescent and family counseling with the Placer County Office of Education and Placer County Children’s System of care. I’ve had contracts with the Rocklin School district for providing adult and adolescent group counseling and individual life skills education.

Clinical Specialties

My strengths are partnering with youth and families to provide strategies to create healthier relationships. I also enjoy working with individual clients to help them stop self-defeating behaviors so they can feel better about themselves. I have particular experience helping people with:

  • Parenting skills
  • Family/Marital/ individual relationship issues
  • Grief and Loss
  • Trauma
  • Phase of life issues & transitions
  • Self-esteem

With an integrative approach informed by attachment theory and interpersonal neurobiology, I utilize best practices that support overall wellness and advances the therapeutic process.

While I have had extensive work with youth and families dealing with addiction and relational conflict, I am also well versed in helping couples and individuals gain clarity and explore the barriers that are keeping them stuck in unhelpful patterns.

Personal

Born and raised in Colorado, I decided to give up my native card in 1985 to brave the west coast. I landed in San Francisco, and I have been a west coast girl ever since. My husband of 23 years and our two boys moved to the Sacramento area in 1998. We have loved the slower lifestyle, and the close proximity to the city, ocean, lakes and mountains which we visit as often as we can. I have a passion for music and my taste in genres changes like the seasons. Currently, I am a big blues, classic jazz and bluegrass fan, but can’t ever resist a great Earth, Wind and Fire jam. I love spending time with my family and watching our two sons navigate adulthood. Other hobbies of mine are cooking, gardening and exercising.


Contact


Availability & Rates

  • Monday-Friday, 9-7
  • $150 per 50 minute session

Intake Paperwork

Please complete the online intake paperwork before your first session. It takes a while to complete – plan on about 30 minutes – but having this information prior to your arrival helps me make the most of our time together. If the person seeking treatment is a child or adolescent, please fill out the “child/adolescent” paperwork. Otherwise please complete the “adult” paperwork. I will provide you with the password.