Myles Montgomery, MSW, LCSW

“It is helpful to remember that behind every obstacle is a treasure to behold”Anonymous

Education

My educational journey began with the completion of a B.A. in English from the University of Puget Sound in Tacoma, Washington. Next, in 1999, I completed a California Clear Teaching from Santa Clara University, where I received a Single-Subject Credential to teach English. In 2003, I obtained a Masters of Social Work (MSW) from Sacramento State University, where I completed the Title IV-E program, which focuses curriculum on child welfare. Finally, in 2007, I graduated with a Juris Doctor from the McGeorge School of Law in Sacramento. While a law student, I interned at the Sacramento District Attorney’s Office.


Professional

After completing my B.A., I moved to California and spent a year with AmeriCorps, developing literacy programs at elementary schools in San Jose. Upon receiving my California Clear Teaching Credential, I taught at high schools in Sunnyvale and Rio Linda. While teaching, I was accepted in the MSW program and started working as a social worker in the Sacramento area. My experiences as a social worker include CPS investigations, residential care social work for children and teenagers, case management for severely and chronically mentally ill persons in Solano County, and private practice. From 2011-2014, I was adjunct professor at Alliant International University. At Alliant, I taught Law and Ethics, Advanced Couples Therapy, Family Assessments and Sex Therapy. Finally, my degree in law allowed me to practice several years as a civil litigator. Ultimately, however, I returned to social work, as this is where by heart truly is. Currently, in addition to private practice, I currently teach Research and Social Work Statistics at Sacramento State University.

Clinical Specialties

 I have extensive experience in working with populations of teenage boys and their families. This experience comes from having spent 6 years at an all-male, level 14 group home, the highest level of treatment in California. I have also worked with male clients in the Juvenile Justice system. My experience has taught me that there is no substitute for inclusion of family members in the treatment process.

Besides teenage boys, I have experience working with individuals who experience thought disorders, which are characterized by paranoia and/or the demonstration of disconnected thoughts. This category is one that is frequently misunderstood and portrayed negatively in popular media. Family and community support for these individuals are crucial but often lacking. My experience working with this group comes from 3 years of community social work in Solano County as a case manager.

Couples counseling and family therapy is my final specialization. Since entering the field, it has been my deeply-held belief that these varieties of counseling can be especially effective, as they seek to treat systems, which include multiple individuals. My orientation toward both therapist is strength-based and solution-focused. Strengthening the resilience of systems is a primary focus of my work.


Personal

I grew up in Washington state and still love many of the area sports teams (Go Seahawk!). I enjoy gardening, hiking, traveling and playing with my two children. In 2006, I completed the Rock n’ Roll Marathon in San Diego. While I no longer run as often, I try to exercise often with weights and jump rope. In addition, I frequently listen to punk rock music (Fugazi is one of my favorites) and enjoy reading (whenever I can). Curiously, I have grown fond of mathematics (and teaching statistics) as I have aged. I try to integrate my legal education and training in teaching law and ethics.


Contact


Availability & Rates

  • Monday-Friday, 9-7
  • $150 per 50-minute session
  • A few openings as low as $100 depending on need and availability